Political Misuse of Statistics Busted

With parliament elections only a few months away the Finnish magazine Suomen Kuvalehti has brought the “truth-o-meter” to Finland. Today they do an excellent data driven story on the political statements regarding asylum seekers, one of the hottest topics in the elections this year. They beautifully and brutally manage to bust the argumentation of the populist candidate Jussi Halla-aho.

According to Halla-aho the number of asylum seekers have quadrupled, which is true. Sort of (I take the liberty of borrowing the graphs from Suomen kuvalehti):

However, it is also, sort of, true that the number of asylum seekers have dropped dramatically:

However-ever, one could also say that this has been the development:

You choose your own reality.

Great job Kuvalehti.

 

 


81 Comments on “Political Misuse of Statistics Busted”

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your website? My website is in the very same niche
    as yours and my users would certainly benefit from some of the information you present here.

    Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks a lot!

  2. Travel says:

    After I originally commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I recieve four emails with the same comment.
    Perhaps there is a way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  3. If you are looking for a great way to generate cheap MLM leads, then
    article marketing needs to be a primary tool in your online marketing efforts.
    Here are three situations where you should keep your cool and be slow
    to anger. Almost everyone you know is a member of a social networking site.

  4. It also provides you with daily recipes, success stories
    and useful tips. They have the ability to recover from
    emotional pain through play, with older children using play as an opening to
    learn how to talk about their feelings. Using the built in camera of
    the Nintendo 3DS, I made a custom fisherman using my actual image.

  5. Hello, i believe that i noticed you visited my website
    so i came to return the favor?.I am attempting to find things to enhance my website!I guess its adequate to use some of your ideas!!

  6. Raina says:

    I all the time used to study paragraph in news papers
    but now as I am a user of internet therefore from
    now I am using net for articles, thanks to web.

  7. TV op PC says:

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues
    of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself
    or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the
    internet without my agreement. Do you know any ways to help protect against
    content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  8. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to understand so much
    approximately this, like you wrote the e-book
    in it or something. I feel that you simply could do with some percent to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, that is great blog.
    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  9. We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all
    of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. Does one offer
    guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you
    write with regards to here. Again, awesome web log!

  10. Thank you for the good writeup. It in truth used to be a amusement account it.
    Glance complex to far delivered agreeable from you! By
    the way, how can we keep up a correspondence?

  11. I read this post completely concerning the comparison of latest
    and previous technologies, it’s awesome article.

  12. Your style is very unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.

    I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just
    book mark this site.

  13. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for inventory

  14. It was a fight that pitted Christian believers against Christian believers; just like Sunni Muslims against
    Shiite Muslims. Once you decide on your preferred
    location, reserve the date and tee times well in advance.
    It looks like the Pirates will alternate Wood and Cedeno at shortstop to see what Wood
    has.

  15. The crucial point to being successful making use of social networking advertising will
    be to have fantastic content material. The info requires to become
    inspiring, educational, and fascinating to ensure that your fans may possibly wish to share it.

  16. Hey there! I simply would like to give you
    a big thumbs up for your excellent info you’ve
    got here on this post. I will be returning to your site for more soon.

  17. MLSP says:

    Make specific you retain your blog and continue the very good
    work-to-date with relevant and helpful information. If you’re obtaining a campaign or perhaps a purchase, make certain to publish it for your weblog.
    For all those that have any essential news -new locations, transform of hrs, particular closing, etc.

  18. Hello there, There’s no doubt that your site could be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine
    however, when opening in I.E., it has some overlapping issues.

    I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other
    than that, great website!

  19. Saturday, the Arizona Derby Dames will hold a banked track double header.
    By halftime, however, the Corporal Punishers gained the lead 69-55 as the Blitz found themselves in some serious penalty trouble.

    During the Civil War units routinely carred a full brass and percussion band with them on the march.

  20. cvtres.exe says:

    Truly when someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other people that they will help,
    so here it happens.

  21. Sethc.exe says:

    Hi my family member! I wish to say that this post is awesome, nice written and come with almost all vital infos.
    I’d like to look extra posts like this .

  22. When you ride into town using one of these cycles, heads turn and everyone will
    need to party to you to take a turn riding it. Deadly Boss Mods Essential for anyone who wants to raid on almost any serious leveling.
    As you level greater than 70 you may reach Northrend this means it is
    time to start the Demonology tree.

  23. Ty says:

    My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was once
    entirely right. This put up truly made my day.
    You cann’t believe simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank
    you!

  24. ntkrpamp.exe says:

    You are so awesome! I don’t think I have read through something like this before.

    So nice to discover someone with a few unique thoughts on this topic.
    Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This web site
    is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

  25. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout
    on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

  26. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse
    your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the information youu present here and can’t wait to takee a look when I geet home.
    I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great site!

  27. The Reverse Mortgage Counselors Want Really To Help Seniors.
    Freezing embryos might help to reduce the value of long term cycles,
    but the cost is frequently nevertheless quite great.
    Licensure Requirements – Numerous states require counselors
    be licensed prior to they practise and to qualify
    for the licensure examination you must have a master’s degree.

  28. Secondly, in order to replace these well caliber faculties, these engineering colleges are hiring fresher’s as lecturers, faculties and experts in their colleges as
    these fresher’s do not charges much compensation for their work.

    You do not have to state to anybody that the returns
    on they investments are to be used for retirement. There are several easy colleges to get into and you can make a good career by
    studying in them.

  29. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful info specially the last part🙂 I care for such information a lot.
    I was looking for this certain info for a very long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  30. vlc.exe says:

    Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year
    old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go
    back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had
    to tell someone!

  31. Lela says:

    You need to take part in a contest for one of the highest quality blogs online.
    I’m going to recommend this blog!

  32. You’re so cool! I do not think I’ve read through a single thing like that before.
    So good to find someone with original thoughts on this topic.
    Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This
    website is something that is required on the web, someone with
    a bit of originality!

  33. mingwm10.dll says:

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme
    in our community. Your website provided us
    with valuable info to work on. You’ve done a
    formidable job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  34. It’s amazing to pay a quick visit this site and reading the
    views of all friends regarding this paragraph, while I
    am also eager of getting knowledge.

  35. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. All the best

  36. NisSrv.exe says:

    Excellent post. I’m facing some of these issues as well..

  37. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the most useful websites
    on the internet. I am going to highly recommend this blog!

  38. You can buy custom recycled cases made of many different types of firms.
    Whenever the communication is an interesting reflection on the challenges that security practitioners
    faced in the mid-90 s which are very well fed and cared
    for. The device’s novel tablet controller stayed judgment
    for a short time, but it also means you don’t need
    to use hazardous chemicals. The Historic District was founded in 1834 and is the logical location of the antenna.
    Projects have ranged from outhouses in the
    great room, as well as aesthetically pleasing.

  39. Apparently, the people at Disney decided that you shouldn’t mess with a good thing.
    The Hulk and this seems to be a unanimous impression – hijacks the movie.
    stands for Supreme Headquarters International Espionage Law-enforcement Division.

  40. Janie says:

    This paragraph will assist the internet users for setting up new blog or even a blog from start to end.

  41. Wedding day MC Jokes need to be in all master
    of ceremonies “bag of tricks” at the reception. Fashionable systems have been playing an more and much more critical
    portion in the lives of people today all higher than the earth, and not just with e-mails and enterprise prospects.
    * Perform Dwell Interactive movie games, quiz’s on your Channel.

  42. Kathie Fogg says:

    When I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I recieve four emails with the exact same
    comment. Perhaps there is an easy method you can remove me from that
    service? Appreciate it!

  43. cpuadvice.wordpress.com says:

    Before your first meeting, download the software from Citrix and register the license.
    Exam Name : Engineering a Citrix Virtualization Solution. Thin – Station is free, making it perfect for use at
    home, school, or at the office.

  44. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I am quite sure I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  45. Bradley says:

    Tucked in are lists of family friendly books subjects, recipes, and games to extend
    learning. For family members who want a
    more special phone, AT&T is the exclusive home to Apple’s i –
    Phone as well as many other premium cellphones like the Samsung Mythic a897, and they also
    have a unique rollover plan. Trust is also a compulsory requirement for all fulfilling
    and happy relationships.

  46. You can rotate and smartly move cheat meals plus your favorite
    high carb snacks to really are able to party with all the best and never throw your organize of
    whack one iota. As people say, the definition of insanity would be to keep walking the identical
    path and expecting different results. Hunger pains may cause visitors to have too many cheat meals, rendering it hard that you can stick in your diet.

  47. enzyme says:

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Cheers!

  48. video aqui says:

    Hoy tengo una recomendación extremadamente especial, un nuevo
    dúo en la escena de la industria musical provenientes de Valencia,
    España. Adel & Jess dos jóvenes talentos que cuando cantan hacen que tu piel se erice por varias razones.
    En primer lugar, los dos músicos tienen una voz fuera de lo común y
    muy distinta a lo que ahora se escucha en el pop y sus temas son tan románticos,
    con una elegíatan hermosa que seguramente todos los amantes del mundo concordarán con sus melodiosos textos que fueron compuestos por el duetto español inspirados por el
    corazón con una visión verdaderamente sublime del
    romanticismo y la morriña. En lo que se pronostica una larga carrera en la canto de Alex & Jess, una carrera que va a tener mucho gloria en la actividad artística
    hispana.

  49. Do you have any video of that? I’d love to find out some additional information.

  50. What blogs for political commentary could you recommend
    me to learn?
    I’m looking both for blogs that give unbiased, balanced commentary on all concerns or sites that have a generous or left-wing slant.
    Thank you.

  51. Definitely believe that which you stated.
    Your favorite justification appeared to be on the
    web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that
    they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect
    , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.

    Thanks

  52. WOW just what I was looking for. Came hete by searching for league of angels cheat

  53. The reason others do among some websites in a blogroll do not have their latest post outlined?
    To change that?

  54. Joseph says:

    I am really delighted to read this weblog posts which carries tons of useful
    information, thanks for providing these data.

  55. You can simply choose one if you have got something in your mind or can switch to references by some tilers surrey who can help you make a selection among such
    a vast variety. For that you will have to go through
    advanced training and which will take a month or two training.
    Moreover, select based on the decor – simple or ornate, colors- bright or subdued, plus the patterns – delicate
    or difficult, pick the kitchen tiles according on your taste.

  56. Dominique says:

    Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed
    browsing your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

  57. Clair says:

    Hi to all, it’s truly a fastidious for me to pay a
    visit this web site, it includes helpful Information.

  58. The clinics also basal body temperature offer free pregnancy tests are negative wait another few days.

    Every woman ovulates at different times in your body
    and they are relatively inexpensive, easy to read, convenient and
    private. When should you take the test step by step
    guide to infertility freedom.

  59. Like right now you know we don’t know how home pregnancy
    test is the test is bound to HCG. Pregnancy Miracle manual and luteal
    phase consulting doctors on the story, thinking about the show’s reality
    aside, the level of home pregnancy tests are among the first month of conception.

  60. Priscilla says:

    All licensees are required to mail monthly training reports to the Board every month.
    Superficial peels are performed by experienced aesthetician, Kim Alles, while
    Dr. but found myself listening and offering advice to those seemingly lost.

  61. Hey would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re utilizing?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider
    at a reasonable price? Kudos, I appreciate it!

  62. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have take into accout
    your stuff previous to and you’re simply extremely magnificent.

    I really like what you have received right here, really like what you’re stating and the
    best way during which you are saying it. You’re making it enjoyable and you still
    care for to stay it smart. I can’t wait to learn far more from you.
    That is really a wonderful site.

  63. I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be exactly what
    I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome web log!

  64. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this outstanding blog!

    I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  65. I lke the valuable information you provide
    iin your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and
    check agaain here regularly. I’m quite sure I will lear many new
    stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  66. REMAX says:

    Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a weblog web site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit familiar of this
    your broadcast provided brilliant clear concept

  67. May I simply say what a relief to discover someone who really
    knows what they’re discussing on the web. You actually understand how to bring
    an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people ought to read this
    and understand this side of your story. I
    can’t believe you aren’t more popular because you surely possess the gift.

  68. I’m not sure why but this weblog is loading incredibly
    slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue
    on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  69. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was entirely right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent
    for this information! Thanks!

  70. Hello! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post
    to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  71. Ѵery good article. I am dealing with a few of these issսes as well..

  72. Archer says:

    It is actually a great and useful piece of info. I am satisfied that you simply
    shared this useful info with us. Please keep us
    informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  73. Ellie says:

    Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.I will
    be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back in the future.

    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great job, have
    a nice day!

  74. Hi Dear, are you truly visiting this web site regularly, if so then you will without doubt obtain nice know-how.

  75. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog
    posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site.
    Studying this information So i am glad to conveey that I have a
    very just right uncanny feeling I found out exactly what
    I needed. I most unquestionably will make certain to do not disregard this website and provides it a glance regularly.

  76. hallowen says:

    I like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve you guys to our blogroll.

  77. harem pants says:

    In a retweet Adam posted on his own page, one fan had this to
    say about the look:. Just one good reason why everyday people buy low-cost yoga pants
    for women is because economical pants are simpler and
    easier to exchange than the natural kinds. We offer a constant flow of “fun and creative” clothing to make your look come alive.

  78. JohnnyselD says:

    Кинопозитив

  79. follow says:

    Znaleźć dziś na prawdę świetnego bloga to rarytas, więc cieszę się,
    że tu trafiłem

  80. I got this site from my pal who told me regarding this site and now this time I am browsing this
    web page and reading very informative articles here.

  81. Siwefopert says:

    Давайте обсудим вопрос


Leave a Reply

